Power Systems

Research group leaderSpyros Chatzivasileiadis

Our Power Systems group focuses onoperation, stability and security of electric power grids with extensive large-scale integration of renewable energy sources, considering power electronic-connected units, HVDC, utilizing novel numeric and analytical computational methods.

  • The area covers use of theory for stability in power systems, complex systems, control theory etc. for monitoring, protection and operation of more complex power systems based on fluctuating renewable energy resources.

  • The research challenges includes among others wide area monitoring, protection and control methods (wide area systems), methods for real time stability and security assessment, impact of fluctuating renewable  energy sources on system stability and use of modern measurement systems as phasor measurement units.



Group members :

Name Title Unit Ph. E-mail
Mauricio Souza de Alencar Mauricio Souza de AlencarPhD StudentDTU Windmasoda@dtu.dk
Mahmoud Alsadat Mahmoud AlsadatPhD studentDTU Windmalasa@dtu.dk
Amir Arasteh Amir ArastehPhD studentDTU Wind+45 30 42 23 87amia@dtu.dk
Mette Bytoft-Thomsen Mette Bytoft-ThomsenAdministrative CoordinatorDTU Wind+45 20 68 59 94bytoft@dtu.dk
Spyros Chatzivasileiadis Spyros ChatzivasileiadisAssociate Professor, Head of SectionDTU Wind+45 45 25 56 21spchatz@dtu.dk
Samuel Chevalier Samuel ChevalierPostdocDTU Windschev@dtu.dk
Nicolaos A. Cutululis Nicolaos A. CutululisProfessorDTU Wind+45 21 32 49 65niac@dtu.dk
Alessandra Follo Alessandra FolloPhD studentDTU Windafollo@dtu.dk
Sulav Ghimire Sulav Ghimire Industrial PhDDTU Windsulavgh@dtu.dk
Gabriel Miguel Gomes Guerreiro Gabriel Miguel Gomes Guerreiro Industrial PhDDTU Windgamgu@dtu.dk